The Denny Jackman Scholarship

An annual essay competition and scholarship awarded by Farmland Working Group​

Farmland Working Group sponsors an annual competitive scholarship for graduating high school seniors in Stanislaus and Merced Counties. Named for Denny Jackman, former Modesto City Council member and an advocate for smart growth, Denny was a charter member of the Farmland Working Group.

Application forms are mailed to high schools in the fall with deadline for submission by the third Friday in February. Late applications will not be considered. The scholarship has a monetary component. Selected essay(s) will be published in the Group's Summer newsletter.

Applications and essays can be returned by email only to: Essays need to be in text format.

Below is the scholarship application form in both pdf and word format for the 2020-2021 academic year.

Prior Year's Recipients

2021 To be determined.

2020 Megan E. - Los Banos High School

2019 William S. - Buhach Colony High School

2018 Alison D. - Enoch High School

2017 Stephanie S. - Buhach Colony High School

2015 Clayton S. - Buhach Colony High School

2014 Larry B. - Waterford HS, and Erica S. - Buhach Colony HS

2012 Gavin A. - Livingston High School

2011 John C. - Hughson High School

2010 Johanna M. - Turlock Christian School

2009 Jennifer R. - Atwater High School

2008 Victoria K. - Modesto High School

2007 Garland C. - Beyer High School

2006 Lance A. - Ceres High School, and Teresa M., and Elizabeth A.

2005 Christopher H. - Ceres High School

Contact the Scholarship Committee directly at